Only Digital Photography
Dec 9, 2016
Dec 8, 2016
Dec 7, 2016
Dec 6, 2016
Dec 3, 2016
Dec 2, 2016
Nov 30, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 26, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 23, 2016
Nov 22, 2016
Nov 21, 2016
Nov 20, 2016
Nov 18, 2016
Nov 5, 2016
Canon EOS 5D Mark IV – my in-depth review of Canon’s latest full-framer!
Canon EOS 5D Mark IV – my in-depth review of Canon’s latest full-framer!
Canon’s EOS 5D Mark IV is the long-awaited successor to the 5D Mark III, boosting the resolution to 30.4 Megapixels with a new full-frame sensor that supports Dual Pixel CMOS AF. It accelerates continuous shooting to 7fps, inherits the 3.2in touchscreen and 61-point AF system of the EOS 1Dx Mark II and can film 4k movies (in the DCI Cinema format) up to 30p. The body features improved weather-proofing along with a built-in GPS receiver and Wifi with NFC. In one of my biggest reviews to date, I’ve delved into the new features and made a wealth of comparisons with rival cameras – find out if it’s the body you’ve been waiting for in my Canon EOS 5D Mark IV review!
| Building on this legendary legacy, the EOS 5D Mark IV propels the series forward with a fusion of features and enhancements targeted to please even the most discerning creative eyes. The camera’s, 30.4 megapixel 35mm Full Frame Canon CMOS sensor offers stunning image quality while the DIGIC 6+ Image Processor delivers 4K 30P video and up to and seven frames per second (fps) continuous shooting. To make video shooting even easier, the camera also features Canon’s propriety Dual Pixel CMOS AF, even when shooting 4K to help ensure sharp focus and subject tracking. Read more here. |
Camera Labs and DSLR Tips latest news and reviews
Check out the Resources of Digital Photography School for more books or courses on Photography.
Visit here for more on Photography Tips.
Read more on SLR Camera Guide.
Nikon D3400 – entry-level DSLR reviewed!
Nikon D3400 – entry-level DSLR reviewed
The Nikon D3400 is the company’s latest entry-level DSLR, aimed at beginners or those looking for a step-up in quality and control over a point-and-shoot camera without breaking the bank.The D3400 shares a great deal with the earlier D3300, including the 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, 11-point AF system, 5fps shooting and 1080 video up to 60p, but the big new feature is SnapBridge, Nikon’s wireless technology which exploits Bluetooth to maintain a low-power wireless link with smartphones for easy unattended image transfer.
|
Before the D3400,
you chose your smartphone camera for convenience. Zooming was clumsy.
Shooting in low light was nearly impossible. Capturing fast action was a
game of luck. But after the D3400, you’ll see that you were
compromising image quality. That some of the greatest photos happen when
the light is low. That fast action can be frozen in perfect clarity.
And that a camera and a smartphone can work together in harmony to make
the photos you share absolutely amazing.
Buy D3400 Here. |
Camera Labs and DSLR Tips latest news and reviews
Check out the Resources of Digital Photography School for more books or courses on Photography.
Visit here for more on Digital Photography.
Read more on SLR Camera Guide.
How to make a bokeh effect in Photoshop
How to make a bokeh effect in Photoshop
We show you how to spice up your portraits by adding out-of-focus effects. You’ll learn how to make bokeh in Photoshop by creating your own custom brush tip then using filters and blending modes to make bokeh.

The term ‘bokeh’ refers to the circular spots that appear in out-of-focus areas of an image. Usually creating bokeh in-camera means investing in a fast lens, shooting at a wide aperture and catching out-of-focus highlights in the background. But with a few simple skills we can replicate the effect in Photoshop.
The key to success here is the amazing Photoshop brush engine. Not only can you create your own brush tips from any shape you like, you can also change the way the brush applies colour by randomising it.
If this all sounds a little complicated, then don’t worry, it’s simply a case of opening the Brush panel and experimenting with the settings.
The key sliders for our bokeh effect here are Scattering and Jitters. Combine them with the right Spacing setting, and you can create beautiful random patterns with just a couple of brush strokes.
We’ll show you how to define a bubble-like brush tip here for our bokeh effect, with a transparent centre and opaque edge.
Once done, we’ll apply a few simple settings to create our randomized bokeh brush. All we have to do then is paint with the brush on a few separate layers and apply different strengths of blur to each layer to add depth to the effect, then drop in our cut-out portrait. It’s great fun, and easier than you might think…
We’ve provided a cut-out portrait for you to use here, but if you want to cut out your own, begin by painting over the figure with the Quick Selection brush to select it (hold Alt and paint to subtract if it goes wrong).
When you’re happy with the initial selection, go to Select>Refine Edge and increase the radius to improve it (while in the Refine Edge command, paint over tricky edges, like hair, for a better result). Set Output to Layer Mask and hit OK. You should now have a precise cut-out, to use either for this effect or for any other montage idea.
Click here to download our portrait

01 Make a brush
Go to File>New, choose A4, set Background Contents: Transparent, hit OK. Grab the Elliptical Marquee tool. Shift-draw a small circle, go to Edit>Fill and use black. In the Layers panel, set Fill 50%, then go to Layer>Layer Style>Stroke. Set Size 8px, colour black. Hit OK.

02 Define a brush
Go to Edit>Define Brush Preset. Name it and hit OK. Create a new layer, hit Alt+Delete to fill it, go to Layer> Layer Style>Gradient Overlay. Click the preview bar, double-click the little squares under the gradient to choose two colours (blue and purple here). Hit OK.

03 Customize the brush
Grab the Brush tool. Toggle the Brush panel in the Options bar. Use Brush Tip Shape, set Spacing 100%. Use Shape Dynamics, set Size Jitter 100, Minimum Diameter 50. Use Scattering, set Scatter 1000, Count 3. Go Transfer, set Opacity and Flow Jitters to 50%.
SEE MORE: Photoshop Adjustment Brush – how to make quick, localised tweaks

04 Paint and blur
Make a new layer, click the Blending Mode drop-down in the Layers panel, choose Color Dodge. Pick a light grey and paint scattered bubbles. Pick Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur. Blur the bubbles (Radius 40px), hit OK. Repeat on another layer, with a lower amount of blur.

05 Build it up
Continue painting and blurring on more layers (set to Color Dodge), varying the brush size and blur amount. Go to File>Place Embedded and choose bokeh_cutout.png to drop in the subject. Add more bokeh layers on top. Hit Ctrl+Shift+Alt+E to merge a layer.

Select Filter>Blur Gallery>Iris Blur and blur the edges of the frame. Go to Filter>Camera Raw Filter. Grab the Radial Filter, set Exposure -3 and drag to darken the corners. Create an adjustment layer, choose Colour Lookup and select a tonal preset, like ‘2 Strip’ here.
Final Tip
To add atmospheric sparks to the effect, paint random white dots then use Filter> Blur Gallery>Path Blur to create streaks of light
READ MORE
5 signs that mark you out as a Lightroom rookie Recreate the look of a medium format portrait Abuse your raw files for a striking high-key portrait
Dramatic Lighting: how to create stylish portraits using simple Photoshop effects
Fine-tune image colour: how to remove casts, boost colours and apply instant effects
Check out the Resources of Digital Photography School for more books and courses on Photography.
The post How to make a bokeh effect in Photoshop (download our cut-out portrait and follow along!) appeared first on Digital Camera World.
Source: Digital Camera World

We show you how to spice up your portraits by adding out-of-focus effects. You’ll learn how to make bokeh in Photoshop by creating your own custom brush tip then using filters and blending modes to make bokeh.
The term ‘bokeh’ refers to the circular spots that appear in out-of-focus areas of an image. Usually creating bokeh in-camera means investing in a fast lens, shooting at a wide aperture and catching out-of-focus highlights in the background. But with a few simple skills we can replicate the effect in Photoshop.
The key to success here is the amazing Photoshop brush engine. Not only can you create your own brush tips from any shape you like, you can also change the way the brush applies colour by randomising it.
If this all sounds a little complicated, then don’t worry, it’s simply a case of opening the Brush panel and experimenting with the settings.
The key sliders for our bokeh effect here are Scattering and Jitters. Combine them with the right Spacing setting, and you can create beautiful random patterns with just a couple of brush strokes.
We’ll show you how to define a bubble-like brush tip here for our bokeh effect, with a transparent centre and opaque edge.
Once done, we’ll apply a few simple settings to create our randomized bokeh brush. All we have to do then is paint with the brush on a few separate layers and apply different strengths of blur to each layer to add depth to the effect, then drop in our cut-out portrait. It’s great fun, and easier than you might think…
Check out the Resources of Digital Photography School for more books and courses on Photography.
Step by step how to make bokeh in Photoshop
Cut out a portraitWe’ve provided a cut-out portrait for you to use here, but if you want to cut out your own, begin by painting over the figure with the Quick Selection brush to select it (hold Alt and paint to subtract if it goes wrong).
When you’re happy with the initial selection, go to Select>Refine Edge and increase the radius to improve it (while in the Refine Edge command, paint over tricky edges, like hair, for a better result). Set Output to Layer Mask and hit OK. You should now have a precise cut-out, to use either for this effect or for any other montage idea.
Click here to download our portrait
01 Make a brush
Go to File>New, choose A4, set Background Contents: Transparent, hit OK. Grab the Elliptical Marquee tool. Shift-draw a small circle, go to Edit>Fill and use black. In the Layers panel, set Fill 50%, then go to Layer>Layer Style>Stroke. Set Size 8px, colour black. Hit OK.
02 Define a brush
Go to Edit>Define Brush Preset. Name it and hit OK. Create a new layer, hit Alt+Delete to fill it, go to Layer> Layer Style>Gradient Overlay. Click the preview bar, double-click the little squares under the gradient to choose two colours (blue and purple here). Hit OK.
03 Customize the brush
Grab the Brush tool. Toggle the Brush panel in the Options bar. Use Brush Tip Shape, set Spacing 100%. Use Shape Dynamics, set Size Jitter 100, Minimum Diameter 50. Use Scattering, set Scatter 1000, Count 3. Go Transfer, set Opacity and Flow Jitters to 50%.
SEE MORE: Photoshop Adjustment Brush – how to make quick, localised tweaks
04 Paint and blur
Make a new layer, click the Blending Mode drop-down in the Layers panel, choose Color Dodge. Pick a light grey and paint scattered bubbles. Pick Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur. Blur the bubbles (Radius 40px), hit OK. Repeat on another layer, with a lower amount of blur.
05 Build it up
Continue painting and blurring on more layers (set to Color Dodge), varying the brush size and blur amount. Go to File>Place Embedded and choose bokeh_cutout.png to drop in the subject. Add more bokeh layers on top. Hit Ctrl+Shift+Alt+E to merge a layer.
Check out the Resources of Digital Photography School for more books and courses on Photography.
06 Add tonal effectsSelect Filter>Blur Gallery>Iris Blur and blur the edges of the frame. Go to Filter>Camera Raw Filter. Grab the Radial Filter, set Exposure -3 and drag to darken the corners. Create an adjustment layer, choose Colour Lookup and select a tonal preset, like ‘2 Strip’ here.
Final Tip
To add atmospheric sparks to the effect, paint random white dots then use Filter> Blur Gallery>Path Blur to create streaks of light
READ MORE
5 signs that mark you out as a Lightroom rookie Recreate the look of a medium format portrait Abuse your raw files for a striking high-key portrait
Dramatic Lighting: how to create stylish portraits using simple Photoshop effects
Fine-tune image colour: how to remove casts, boost colours and apply instant effects
Check out the Resources of Digital Photography School for more books and courses on Photography.
The post How to make a bokeh effect in Photoshop (download our cut-out portrait and follow along!) appeared first on Digital Camera World.
Source: Digital Camera World
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)